Traditions of the Altai people

The modern people of the Altai preserved lots of their ancestors’ traditions. Certainly, this is mainly true for the villagers. Due to the Altai government’s support some lost customs of the people are gradually appearing again. We will tell you about some traditions which you can meet during your staying in the present Altai.
Фото

The Altai guttural singing (kay)

The singing art of the Altai people is very ancient. The Altai songs are usually legends about the ancient heroes, stories about the meetings of ghosts, hunts and heroical deeds. The longest kay can last up to some days. The songs are often accompanied by playing the national instruments – topshur and yatkan. Kay is the men’s occupation, but not every man can master this art.
Фото

National instruments

The Altai komus is a type of a guimbarde, a reed instrument. Many nations have different modifications of such an instrument with different names. Its initial origin isn’t known. On the Russian territory the instrument is mostly widespread in Bashkiria (kubyz), in Tuva, Yakutia (homus) and in the Altai (komus).
While playing a metal or wooden komus, a musician presses the instrument to his teeth or lips and the mouth works as a resonator. Using various changes in articulation, breathing etc. one can change the sound of a komus and create fascinating tunes.
In the Altai komus is considered to be a women’s musical instrument, which helped the ancient Altai women to lullaby their children, calm down the cattle and even declare their love. Today it is a popular Altai souvenir, which can be bought in souvenir’s shops at the Chyuycky tract or order it by mail. Apart from that, there are lots of various manuals for learning to play the Altai komus.



tourist camp

Традиции жителей алтая

Современные жители Алтая сохранили немалую часть традиций своих предков. В большей степени это касается, разумеется, жителей деревень. Благодаря поддержке правительства республики Алтай некоторые утраченные традиции этого древнего народа постепенно возрождаются. Мы расскажем о некоторых традициях, с которыми вы можете познакомиться, посетив Алтай в наши дни.
Фото

Алтайское горловое пение (кай)

Песенная культура алтайского народа уходит корнями в глубокую древность. Песни алтайцев - это обычно сказания о героях древности, истории, повествующие о встречах с духами, охотах, героических свершениях. Самый длинный кай может продолжаться до нескольких суток. Песни часто сопровождаются игрой на национальных музыкальных инструментах - топшуре или яткане. Кай считается мужским занятием, но далеко не любой мужчина владеет этим искусством.
Фото

Народные инструменты

Алтайский комус — разновидность варгана, язычкового музыкального инструмента. Под разными названиями подобный инструмент и различные его модификации встречаются у многих народов мира. Изначальное происхождение его не установлено. На территории России этот инструмент больше всего распространен в Башкирии (кубыз), в Туве, Якутии (хомус) и на Алтае (комус).
При игре металлический или деревянный комус прижимают к губам или зубам, а ротовая полость служит резонатором. Используя разнообразные приемы изменения дыхания и артикуляции можно изменять характер звука комуса, создавая завораживающие мелодии.
На Алтае комус считается женским музыкальным инструментом, с помощью которого жительницы Древнего Алтая убаюкивали детей, успокаивали скот и даже объяснялись в любви. Сегодня комус — популярный алтайский сувенир, его можно приобрести в сувенирной лавке на Чуйском тракте или заказать по почте. Кроме того, существуют разнообразные пособия по обучению игры на алтайском комусе.



Туристическая база